Radar Hill Technology Inc.

Great Clients, Great Websites

My mail account is full. How do I delete messages off the server to clear room?

Category: Microsoft Outlook

Last updated on March 11, 2013 | Print | Bookmark

Please Note: These fixes are only valid for email addresses that belong to a Radar Hill website. We make no guarantee that this will fix your Shaw or Telus email. For Shaw and Telus support, contact your local ISP.

 

Outlook Instructions

When you receive an email address to go with a Radar Hill website, your email account is actually hosted online, on the same server computer that your website is on. Your mail client (Outlook, Thunderbird, or Windows Mail) is simply a program that takes a copy of the mail from that online account and lets you view it on your own computer.

Because of this, simply deleting mail from your mail client may not be enough — depending on how your mail client is set up, copies of the messages may still be left on the server, filling up your account and taking up space. However, there are a few ways to deal with this:

If you try these fixes as outlined below and still can't receive email, feel free to contact our office, and we'll look into the problem.

 

Delete and purge your mail using SquirrelMail

The online server that holds your email can be accessed by a web program called SquirrelMail. To get to SquirrelMail, simply go to www.yourdomain.com/webmail , replacing "yourdomain.com" with your website address. You will be viewing mail directly on the server, and you can delete it from there.

Note: Mail does not have to be in your Inbox to clog up your account — mail in your 'Sent' folder also takes up space, so make sure to empty both folders.

Once you have deleted your mail, a small link will show up next to the "Trash" link that says (Purge). Click "(Purge)" to remove all Trash messages completely from your server.

Click Here for Squirrelmail Walkthrough Video

 

Delete and purge your mail using your mail client

(Note: Different versions of Outlook may have slightly different steps to follow to get to your settings.)

By default, most mail clients are set up to only delete your local copy of your email when you delete a message — a second copy remains on the main mail server, taking up space. To make sure that mail is deleted from the server and your mail client when you delete a message, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Tools in the top menu, and then E-mail Accounts. Select "View or change existing accounts" and click Next.
  2. Select the name of your email address and click Change... .
  3. Your user information will show up. Click the More Settings... button. A window will come up, titled Internet E-mail Settings. Click the Advanced tab near the top of the window.
  4. Make sure "Leave a copy of messages on the server" is checked, and check "Remove from server when deleted from 'Deleted Items'".
  5. Click OK, then Next, then Finish.
  6. Go to your Deleted Items folder, right-click on it, and then left-click on "Empty Deleted Items folder". A warning message will pop up asking you whether you want to delete all of the items in the "Deleted Items" folder. Click Yes.
  7. You're done! Make sure to empty your "Deleted Items" folder on a regular basis to keep your account clean.

Click Here for 'Remove Deleted Items from Server' Walkthrough Video

 

Remove copies of your mail from the server

You can also set up Outlook to download messages and then remove them from the main mail server — this ensures that only one copy of each email exists (in Outlook), instead of two copies (one in Outlook and one on the main server).

The upside to this option is that your mail account should never get full, since the server won't have any messages. The downside is that all of your mail will be located solely on your computer, so you will not be able to check your mail on other devices such as smartphones; and if anything happens to your computer or to Outlook, that mail will be lost. Please keep that in mind when deciding whether to implement this method.

To set up Outlook so that your mail is removed from the server when you download it, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Tools in the top menu, and then E-mail Accounts. Select "View or change existing accounts" and click Next.
  2. Select the name of your email address and click Change... .
  3. Your user information will show up. Click the More Settings... button. A window will come up, titled Internet E-mail Settings. Click the Advanced tab near the top of the window.
  4. Uncheck "Leave a copy of messages on the server".
  5. Click OK, then Next, then Finish.
  6. Click the Send/Receive button to bring all your mail in off the server. You're done!

Click Here for 'Remove Mail From Server' Walkthrough Video

 

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

Created on July 29, 2010 with 7419 views